Fleeing His Call

HOSEA 11: When Israel was a child, I loved him, and out of Egypt I called my son. 2 The more they were called, the more they went away; they kept sacrificing to the Baals and burning offerings to idols.

Sometimes Laney, my 19 month old daughter, moves away when I call her to come to me. Usually this is when it’s time to take some medicine, have her diaper changed, or go to bed. All these things she needs and are good for her, yet she sees them as unpleasant. She moves away as I call her, and as my call grows louder and louder, she moves further and further, until I take hold of her and bring her to where she needs to be, usually with her kicking and screaming.

I realize that I am much like Laney, and like the Israelites, as they are described in this verse in Hosea. God calls to me, trying to move me away from the temptations that arise in my life. He calls me to come to Him in prayer, to commune with Him through His word, and to meditate on what He has done and is doing, yet still I move away.

Movement away from God is movement towards Satan. So in His call there is goodness and safety, yet I move further and further from Him until I have fallen into Satan’s trap and then I cry out “Father, save me”. Unlike me, God hears my call and draws near. His grace, through Jesus, takes hold of me and pulls me out of Satan’s grasp.

I pray that, as I mature more and more in faith, I will grow more responsive to God’s call and less rebellious. I pray that you will do the same.

His call is life, abundant and eternal life. My way is death.

Leave a Reply

