Future Focused

Isaiah 39: 5-8

5Then Isaiah said to Hezekiah, “Hear the word of the LORD of hosts: 6 Behold, the days are coming, when all that is in your house, and that which your fathers have stored up till this day, shall be carried to Babylon. Nothing shall be left, says the LORD. 7 And some of your own sons, who will come from you, whom you will father, shall be taken away, and they shall be eunuchs in the palace of the king of Babylon.” 8 Then Hezekiah said to Isaiah, “The word of the LORD that you have spoken is good.” For he thought, “There will be peace and security in my days.”

 

How often are you only concerned about yourself? How often do you think only to tip of your nose and no further? I find myself thinking about what’s good for me far more often than what’s good for others. Even when I think about things that may benefit others, frequently, it also benefits me. I believe I must wage war with this bad habit. I must think far beyond my own personal interests and importance and focus on what comes after me, and not my legacy, but the lives and fates of billions of people that will come after me.

In Isaiah 39: 5-8 King Hezekiah has been told that what he has done in showing the Babylonians all of his house will bring the destruction of Judah. Yet, he thinks only of himself and his time, not the far reaching effects this will have on his people.  How much are you like Hezekiah? Do you seek peace in your own time, or are you willing to wage war in your time that there will be peace in the time to come.

I believe that we must be focused on what will come and not simply the present. Placing band-aids on severe injuries may stop the momentary loss of blood, but it will not save the patient from internal bleeding.

Look beyond the peace of the present and seek future good.

 

Leave a Reply

